Supported by

Improved Farming Systems

What we do:

The Improved Farming Systems team is trying to understand the effect of integrated disease management (IDM) strategies and tactics on disease epidemics and their bio-economic impact. They work closely with the industry to deliver commercially relevant outcomes:

  • Field-based approaches to disease management and pathology, through improved understanding of the interactions between disease and their hosts, environment, field conditions, and management tools.
  • Emerging technologies and early detection tools, to better monitor disease epidemics and fungicide resistance in the field.
  • Improved assessment of economic impact of disease, with methods that help to improve disease management decision-making.


Why we do it:

Recent advances in agronomic practices have resulted in the dramatic improvement of grain production, however, this good agronomy often requires some trade-offs with effective disease management. In some systems this has resulted in the rise of fungicide resistance.

In the absence of a “silver bullet” solution to managing foliar diseases, growers are beginning to look at an integrated approach. The adoption of IDM practices will delay the development of fungicide resistance and breakdown of crop genetics, thus enhancing the profitability and sustainability of these resources.

Our projects

Our Team

Amir Abadi 

Program leader, economics of protecting broadacre crops

amir.abadi@curtin.edu.au

Ayalsew Zerihun 

Early detection of disease using new technologies

ayalsew.zerihun@curtin.edu.au


Sarita Bennett 

Spatial distribution and performance of sclerotinia

sarita.bennett@curtin.edu.au

Pippa Michael

Environmental cues for germination of sclerotinia

pippa.michael@curtin.edu.au

Chala Turo

Pathogen-host interactions under field conditions

chala.turo@curtin.edu.au

Leon Hodgson (PhD)

Stubble management to reduce disease load

leon.hodson@curtin.edu.au

Araz Abdullah (PhD)

Multi-pathogen warfare on co-infected wheat plants

araz.abdullah@curtin.edu.au


Linda Thomson

Investigation of fungicide resistance and sclerotinia

linda.thomson@curtin.edu.au

King Yin Lui

IDM decision making and economic impact assessment

kingyin.lui@curtin.edu.au

Matthew McNee

Research agronomist

matthew.mcnee@curtin.edu.au